The smart factory with Opera MES

OPERA is a complete, engineered and configurable MES software product that fully covers the functional areas of Production, Quality, Material and Maintenance, as requested by the international standards. Its main task is to manage and deliver real time information about the progress of the production plan.

For example, the operators can interact – through web-based interfaces – with the system to receive, in real time, instructions about the correct execution of a task, to monitor the production process, the process parameters, etc… In addition to this, the system also delivers information about the job execution, lots consumed/produced, products conformities, maintenance data, in order to totally avoid paperwork, by digitalizing any information.

Why is MES important in the Industry 4.0 world?

The Industry 4.0 concept identifies the fourth Industrial Revolution: a technological innovation process that will allow manufacturing companies to produce in a more automatized and connected manner through an integrated infrastructure composed of assets, machines, people, mobile devices and IT systems. These systems are able to communicate with each other, both inside and outside the company.  This will represent a new plant ‘Operating System’ able to manage and control the manufacturing operations in real time, by optimizing processes and resources, analyzing performances and reducing errors and wastes, for production process’ continuous improvement.

MES software

In this new scenario, MES (Manufacturing Execution System) represents a fundamental tool towards the full plant digitalization. In fact, MES provides real time information for the management and the monitoring of the entire production process, from the Sales Order up to the delivery of the finished good. MES is the missing link between the decision level made of business applications (ERP-LEVEL) and the execution level (PLANT-LEVEL).

Opera MES provides…

Production management

OPERA Production is the heart of the MES system, where you can define the company model (plants/departments/cost centers…), the production model, the product (production cycle/bill of materials/articles …), all the productive resources (employees, work centers, machines, equipment, tools, causals…) and all the automatic data acquisition procedures (direct and indirect activities, machine setup, machine downtime, quantity produced, scrap, reworks, etc.).

OPERA Workflow Manager allows the management of all workstations and of the related collection procedures. OPERA Management Console allows the management and historical analysis of the acquired data in real time for a complete management and supervision of the production process.

We can summarize the logical flow in 4 macro phases: Planning and Scheduling, Dispatching and Data Acquisition, Paperless Manufacturing and Real-Time Production Supervision. The “paperless” document management is a very important function for digitizing all the information related to the production process. In the production module, OPERA allows you to view and upload in real time any type of information such as documentation, images and photos, videos that the system can be associated with any procedure/activity/resource.

 

Planning & scheduling

It is possible to elaborate a production plan thanks to the finite capacity scheduler and once the optimal scheduling has been defined, the activities to be performed will be electronically dispatched and displayed on the various workstations within the factory. Therefore, each workstation will be online and interactive for the management and execution of the work. In absence of a scheduler but with a simply manual production scheduler, the activities will be assigned automatically to the work center or to the single workstation on machine board and then starts the execution phase.

Material management

In manufacturing environments, the main objective for the material management is to guarantee a correct and punctual material supply to the factory, by minimizing material transfers’ costs, and to physically organize and optimize the warehouse.

Opera MES Material Management module manages in real time the inflows and outflows from/to the warehouse together with all material movements in production, with the aim to provide the user with an updated visibility of the material availability.

The main benefits of this module are:

  • Stock level reduction: very often, when the warehouse is not correctly managed, it is not possible to know exactly where a lot of product is and what its remaining quantities are. Being able to know the actual stock level in the warehouse allows companies to reduce unnecessary stocks according to products’ needs.
  • Times reduction and increase of efficiency: knowing exactly where a lot is, allows material movements times to be reduced and guarantees a punctual material supply to plant departments.
  • Traceability: the complete management of materials and the recording of material flows is necessary to track and trace products as well as lots.

Device connection

The “device connection” function allows the interconnection with all the online machines/equipment in the plant for the automatic acquisition of production data, quality data, process data, etc. Normally in companies, there are machines of different type, brand, model but the system is able to manage the connection to all, through standard interfacing procedures or machine-specific connectors. OPERA system acts as an operating system and communicates with the machine in a bidirectional mode: it allows automatic acquisition of data related to the production process (times, quantities produced, scrap, downtime, causal, energy consumption, etc.) and also allows sending to the machines the necessary data for the execution of the production process (e.g. process parameters, setup operating instructions, instructions on the article to be produced, etc.)

 

Quality & process control

OPERA guarantees the product conformity through the managing and acquisition of the quality checks in the production. The system allows the definition of quality tests on raw materials, semi-finished and finished goods; electronic tests dispatching and real time data acquisition and monitoring for an immediate reaction to possible problems. An accurate analysis of the results (lots status, tests results, tools used, operators involved, non-compliance reasons recorded, etc.) enables the determination of the main reasons affecting products defects and the identification of the best corrective actions to guarantee the quality of both products and manufacturing processes. OPERA MES manages both attribute tests (visual inspection) and instrumental tests (values measurement). The main functionalities are:

  • Quality tests definition on raw materials, semi-finished and finished goods
  • Dispatching and execution of the quality tests
  • Real time quality checks data acquisition (manually and/or automatically)
  • Quality data real time monitoring
  • Quality data report and historical analysis

With Process Control, for each production order/lot it is possible to set a constant control of the productive process values. Through a direct connection with devices, control systems and/or measurement tools, the system collects and records process values, highlighting the process variables, with the aim of promptly and quickly eliminating the ‘special causes’ that mostly affect the quality of the product, then trying to take corrective actions to remove them one by one.

For this purpose, OPERA uses control charts, allowing the monitoring of the chart values and the immediate identification in case the process is out of control, as well as trigging “errors” and events (plant downtime, quality control request, maintenance request, etc.), in order to promptly solve the process criticalities detected. LOTS

Tracking and Tracing are procedures used by companies to recreate the genealogy of a product, recording every single component of the product, to guarantee its quality, while managing any non-compliance situations. Tracking makes it possible to track the lots of materials used in the production of the finished product, from the origin of the product to its distribution. Traceability, on the other hand, is the reverse path and allows, given a finished product, to trace the data of the compound detected during the production phases, to allow the recall of the product. OPERA allows to record, during the progress of processing, millions of records that report every moment of “life” of the product. The main features are:

  • Monitoring of raw (or semi-finished) materials quantities consumed
  • Collecting information related to the quantities produced in production
  • Generating new lots to identify the material produced
  • Monitoring of the components stock levels on the machine

 

Maintenance management

OPERA manages and controls all the maintenance activities performed on the company assets, in particular the assets involved in the production process such as machines/equipment/tools and other work instruments. The primary objective is to ensure the availability of production resources, trying to avoid breakdowns and/or incidental breakages that can affect the productivity, as well as maintaining a good technological level of the plants and above all reducing the losses for the management of the plant and related maintenance costs to zero.

OPERA maintenance is managed on 4 different aspects in a transversal way with the other functional areas of production, quality and materials.

Intelligence de production avec Opera MES

OPERA est un logiciel MES (Manufacturing Execution System : gestion des processus industriels) complet et configurable qui couvre tous les domaines fonctionnels de la production, de la qualité, des matériaux et de la maintenance, conformément aux normes internationales. La tâche la plus importante est de gérer et de fournir des informations en temps réel sur les progrès du plan de production.

Ainsi, les opérateurs peuvent par exemple communiquer avec le système via des interfaces Web pour obtenir des instructions en temps réel sur l’exécution correcte d’une tâche, la surveillance du processus de production, les paramètres du processus, etc. En outre, le système fournit également des informations numériques sur l’exécution de la tâche, les lots consommés / produits, la conformité des produits et les données de maintenance, rendant la paperasse totalement inutile.

Pourquoi le MES est-il vital dans Industrie 4.0 ?

Le concept Industrie 4.0 représente la quatrième révolution industrielle, un processus d’innovation technologique qui permet aux fabricants de produire de manière plus automatisée et connectée au moyen d’une infrastructure intégrée comprenant des actifs, des machines, des personnes, des appareils mobiles et des systèmes informatiques pouvant communiquer entre eux à l’intérieur et à l’extérieur de la société. Cela signifie un nouveau système d’exploitation pour les usines capable de gérer et de contrôler les activités de production en temps réel en optimisant les processus et les ressources, en analysant les performances et en réduisant les erreurs et les gaspillages. De cette façon, les processus de production sont améliorés en permanence.

Dans ce nouveau scénario, le MES (Manufacturing Execution System) constitue une étape fondamentale vers la numérisation complète de l’usine. Le MES fournit des informations en temps réel pour la gestion et le contrôle de l’ensemble du processus de production, de la commande à la livraison du produit fini. Le MES constitue le chaînon manquant entre le niveau de décision constitué d’applications professionnelles (NIVEAU ERP) et le niveau d’exécution (NIVEAU USINE).

Opera MES

Gestion de la production

 

Planification

 

Gestion des matériaux

 

Connexion de l’appareil

 

Contrôle de la qualité et des processus

 

Contrôle de maintenance

 

Gestion de la production

OPERA Production constitue le cœur du système MES, où vous pouvez définir le modèle commercial (usines / départements / centres de coûts…), le modèle de production, le produit (cycle de production / nomenclature / articles…), toutes les sources de production (employés, centres de travail, machines, équipements, instruments, travailleurs temporaires…) et toutes les procédures d’acquisition automatique de données (activités directes et indirectes, réglage de la machine, temps d’arrêt de la machine, quantité produite, déchets, opérations, etc.).

Avec Opera Workflow Manager, tous les postes de travail et toutes les procédures d’acquisition associées peuvent être gérés. Avec OPERA Management Console, les données obtenues peuvent être gérées en temps réel et analysées historiquement pour un contrôle complet et une supervision complète du processus de production.

Nous pouvons résumer tout cela en 4 macro-phases : Planification, acquisition de données, production sans papier et contrôle de la production en temps réel. La gestion de documents « sans papier » est une fonction très importante pour la numérisation de toutes les informations liées au processus de production. Dans le module de production, OPERA vous permet de visualiser et de télécharger tous les types d’informations, tels que de la documentation, des images, des photos et des vidéos, que le système peut ensuite relier à une procédure / une activité / un outil en temps réel.

Planification

Il est possible de préparer un plan de production avec le planificateur de capacité. Dès que la planification optimale a été déterminée, les activités à exécuter sont envoyées électroniquement et affichées sur les différents postes de travail de l’usine. C’est pourquoi chaque poste de travail est en ligne et interactif pour la gestion et l’exécution du travail. En l’absence d’un planificateur, mais avec un simple planificateur de production manuel, les activités sont automatiquement attribuées au centre de travail ou au poste de travail individuel, après quoi la phase d’exécution commence.

Gestion des matériaux

Dans les environnements de production, l’objectif le plus important de la gestion des matériaux est de garantir une livraison correcte et ponctuelle des matériaux à l’usine, de minimiser les coûts liés aux mouvements de matériaux et d’organiser et d’optimiser physiquement l’entrepôt. Ce module gère le flux d’entrée et de sortie de l’entrepôt en temps réel, ainsi que tous les mouvements de matériaux dans la production, dans le but de fournir à l’utilisateur un aperçu à jour de la disponibilité des matériaux.

Principaux avantages de ce module :

  • Réduction des niveaux de stocks. Les stocks nécessaires peuvent être réduits grâce à une connaissance précise des niveaux de stocks réels. Dans un entrepôt mal géré, les personnes ne savent souvent pas exactement quelle quantité est présente en raison d’un manque de connaissances sur la quantité de matériau réellement utilisée.
  • Réduction du temps et augmentation de l’efficacité. Avec la connaissance de l’emplacement précis d’un lot, le temps requis pour les mouvements de matériaux est raccourci et une livraison ponctuelle de matériaux aux départements de l’usine peut être garantie.
  • La gestion des matériaux et l’enregistrement des flux de matériaux sont nécessaires pour pouvoir suivre et retracer les produits, mais aussi les lots.

Connexion de l’appareil

Avec la fonction « connexion de périphérique » d’OPERA MES, tous les appareils / machines en ligne de l’usine peuvent être connectés les uns aux autres pour l’acquisition automatique de données de production, de données sur la qualité, de données de processus, etc. Les sociétés ont normalement différents types, marques et modèles de machines, mais le système OPERA peut communiquer avec la totalité d’entre eux via des procédures d’interface normalisées ou des connexions spécifiques à une machine. Le système OPERA fonctionne comme un système de contrôle et communique avec la machine dans un mode bidirectionnel : il reçoit automatiquement des informations sur le processus de production (temps, quantités produites, pertes, indisponibilités, employés temporaires, consommation d’énergie, etc.) et envoie les données nécessaires à la machine pour l’exécution du processus de production (par exemple, paramètres de processus, manuel d’installation, instructions sur l’article à fabriquer, etc.).

Contrôle de la qualité et des processus

OPERA garantit la conformité du produit en introduisant et en gérant des contrôles qualité dans la production. Le système peut être utilisé pour définir des tests de qualité pour les matières premières, les produits semi-finis et les produits finis ; les tests électroniques sont introduits et des données peuvent être collectées en temps réel pour une réponse immédiate aux problèmes potentiels. Grâce à une analyse précise des résultats (statut des lots, résultats des tests, outils utilisés, opérateurs impliqués, causes identifiées des écarts, etc.), les principales raisons aux défauts du produit peuvent être identifiées et des mesures correctives optimales peuvent être prises pour garantir la qualité des produits ainsi que des processus. OPERA MES gère les tests d’attribut (inspection visuelle) et les tests instrumentaux (mesure de valeurs). Principales fonctions :

  • Définition des tests de qualité pour les matières premières, les produits semi-finis et les produits finis
  • Exécution des tests de qualité
  • Acquisition de données en temps réel des contrôles qualité (manuellement et / ou automatiquement)
  • Contrôle en temps réel des données sur la qualité
  • Rapport et analyse historique des données sur la qualité

Avec le contrôle de processus, il est possible de définir un contrôle permanent des valeurs de processus de production pour chaque ordre de fabrication / lot. Grâce à une connexion directe avec des appareils, des systèmes de contrôle et / ou des outils de mesure, le système collecte et enregistre les valeurs de processus et marque les variables de processus pour capturer immédiatement les paramètres qui ont le plus d’impact sur la qualité du produit. Des mesures correctives peuvent alors être prises.

OPERA utilise des graphiques de contrôle à cet effet. Ainsi, les valeurs des graphiques peuvent être vérifiées et les écarts immédiatement identifiés. Il peut également générer des « erreurs » et des événements (temps d’interruption de l’usine, demande de contrôle qualité, demande de maintenance, etc.) pour résoudre immédiatement les points de processus critiques détectés.

Le suivi et la traçabilité sont des procédures utilisées par les sociétés pour rechercher l’origine d’un produit. En outre, chaque composant individuel du produit est enregistré pour garantir sa qualité. Avec le suivi, il est possible de suivre les lots de matériaux utilisés pour la production du produit fini, de l’origine du produit à sa distribution. La traçabilité fonctionne dans le sens opposé. Cela permet de tracer les données des composants détectés pendant la phase de production d’un produit fini afin de pouvoir rappeler le produit. Avec OPERA, au fur et à mesure de l’avancement du processus, il est possible d’enregistrer des millions de points représentant chaque « phase de la vie » du produit. Principales fonctions :

  • Contrôle de la quantité de matières premières utilisées (ou de produits semi-finis)
  • Recueil d’informations sur les quantités utilisées pendant la production
  • Création de nouveaux lots pour identifier le matériau produit
  • Vérification des niveaux de stock des composants sur la machine

 

Contrôle de maintenance

OPERA gère et contrôle toutes les activités de maintenance effectuées sur les actifs de la société, en particulier ceux impliqués dans le processus de production, tels que les machines / équipements / outils et autres instruments de travail. L’objectif principal est de garantir la disponibilité des aides à la production, d’éviter les défauts et / ou les temps d’immobilisation pouvant affecter la productivité, de maintenir les installations à niveau du point de vue technologique et d’éliminer les pertes d’immobilisation et les coûts de maintenance associés.

La maintenance d’OPERA est réalisée sur quatre aspects différents de manière transversale avec les autres domaines fonctionnels en termes de production, de qualité et de matériaux.